| Home  Blogs Help Search Login Register  
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Crankshaft locking method  (Read 7332 times)
sjguk

« on: September 09, 2008, 12:20:40 pm »

Hello everyone,

First post so here goes,

Could anybody tell me the best (safest) way to lock the crankshaft on a 2.2 dci engine as I have to replace the accesories belt pulley (rubber perished - dislodged belt). I have read the excellant post on this problem/solution and realise I have to lock the crank before applying (a lot) of pressure on the nut, but as I have never done this before I thought I would seek advice first.

Any help appreciated.

Stuart

2002 Grand Espace 2.2 DCi 'The Race'
1999 Grand Espace 2.2 RTX DT
Martin Tyas

Espace, because it's worth it!

« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 04:39:49 pm »

Welcome Stuart

The proper method is to lock the flywheel using a holding tool on the teeth of the flywheel ring gear.
I've attached a photo of the tool made/supplied by Sealey for Renault diesels.

To gain access to the ring gear to position the holding tool you'll need to remove the black painted pressed steel cover plate from the lower clutch housing. It's almost semi-circular in shape and secured by 3 bolts... the plate also has a bracket used as one of the supports for the exhaust pipe from the Eberspacher coolant heater and you will also need to remove the nut from that in order to remove the plate but the exhaust pipe can stay in place.

Hope that helps

Martin

1968 Cessna 182L Skylane
1991 BMW 520i SE Auto
2002 Grand Espace 2.2dCi "The Race"
2003 Astra 1.8i Cabriolet "Edition 100"
2011 Insignia SRi VX-Line Red
2011 Honda VT1300CX Fury
Martin Tyas

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2008, 04:51:25 pm »

Forgot to mention that you will also need an E18 torx socket for the crankshaft pulley bolt if you haven't already got that size Stuart. The bolt has a regular right hand thread so anti-clockwise to undo.

Martin

1968 Cessna 182L Skylane
1991 BMW 520i SE Auto