| Home  Blogs Help Search Login Register  
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Paint bubbles / Cooling system  (Read 8356 times)
alfafred

Murena 2,2 S

« on: November 28, 2012, 01:04:18 pm »

Was Tuesday lookin at two red Murena S, I would really like to own a S. Both cars had lots of nice details and in general OK condition, and both cars had details that had to be repaird.......
Both need paint in the next years, one need change of sylinderhead (new complete follow the car), and one had some watercooling "stuff"... I dont know if there is anything wrong, but..... I understand that new head can be expensive... Both still interesting after wisit. But I must choose the one and buy soon!. I want a new project for the winter.
 Grin

Since I have lots of experience with old alfa romeo`s, but none with Murena 2.2S I ask some questions....
-Watercooling system? Has these cars often trouble with engine cooling/system?
-Is these cars driving with ekstra high pressure in the cooling watertank?
-If a car stored with almost no antifreese, only water can headgasket take damage(corrosion)?
-If sylinder head is defect/water leaqe, in what way to discover this is most common?

-One of the cars have not been used the last years. We had to fill 1,5 l water in the coolant tank to get it to max. I did drive the car approx 15 - 20 min normal road driving, temp on engine was constant and normal. Instrument was on the "white dot" before 90. When parkin the car I let the engine run on idle speed and the temp did go up to 90-93, stabil temp. No fan in the front did start. Normal? Shortly after i did open the cap on reservoar, and it was lots of pressure and air in there, and all water in there did find the shortest way to the floor. Sound normal to you or?... To me it I think two possibilitys, one defective sylinder head gasket/head or lots of air in system because of low water level and that we did fill it up...?

Paint: