| Home  Blogs Help Search Login Register  
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Importing from Holland to UK  (Read 20714 times)
Gib

« on: September 14, 2015, 02:21:41 pm »

I think I have found a Matra to import to the UK but need some help particularly from any one living in the UK who has imported a car from Holland or any Dutch persons who have exported one.

The car is obviously over 10 years old so no customs issue.
The seller is a private Dutch resident (not a garage) and  I am a private UK resident..
I intend to drive back to the UK arriving in the UK early in the morning with a Pre booked MOT for later in the day I live 1KM from my MOT station.
I understand the basics of the  NOVA docs ( UK import docs) and know the key part is to get a clear receipt with VIN details and full details of the previous owners. Then make sure it is all sent off ASAP.

The parts I am concerned with are the export docs which apparently need to be filled in at the local post office with both the seller and buyer being present with car documents and passport / driving licence for the buyer.
   1. What documents are required from the seller?
   2. What documents are required from the buyer?
   3. What forms do I ask for ?
   4. What is the cost for the forms ?
   5. What  days ( Saturday ??) , times of the day can this be done ?
   6. Is it at the post office?

On a lot of the forums it mentions you can also buy in insurance in the same package, how does this work and how much is it? At worst case I need 2 days insurance and 1 of those days would need to cover me driving in the UK.

I have used the search but have found that the rules and regulation change like the wind so wanted to make sure I was up to date as I intend to sort this out in the next 2 weeks.
Bart_Maztra

« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2015, 06:49:10 pm »

I have never done this, but this is what i read from the RDW website.  (RDW = dutch DVLA)
Link below is the procedure in dutch. Use google translate.