| Home  Blogs Help Search Login Register  
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: 2001 V6 Mark III cambelt change. DIY!!!  (Read 3269 times)
Brad

Brad

« on: February 10, 2021, 05:09:59 pm »

I’m about to start this project. I have basic mechanical knowledge and have seen an engine removed from one of my earlier 3.0 V6 Espace cars back in 2005 for a cambelt change.

What I would like to know, if anyone can help, is once I have removed the engine what else should I take the opportunity to service, replace or rustproof once I have an empty engine bay. I realise that the condition of the front subframe can finish off one of these cars so I have my fingers crossed in that respect. Whatever it’s condition, provided it is saveable, I intend to get it professionally stripped, painted and rustproofed.

I envisage this total job taking me several months as I am not a mechanic and not in a rush.

My car has done 65000 miles and there is no record of a cambelt change during its 19 year life. Aside from a bubbling power steering fluid issue and a whine from the PAS pump, it is mechanically sound.

Thank you.

roy4matra
YaBB God

« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2021, 12:21:18 pm »

I’m about to start this project. I have basic mechanical knowledge and have seen an engine removed from one of my earlier 3.0 V6 Espace cars back in 2005 for a cambelt change.

What I would like to know, if anyone can help, is once I have removed the engine what else should I take the opportunity to service, replace or rustproof once I have an empty engine bay. I realise that the condition of the front subframe can finish off one of these cars so I have my fingers crossed in that respect. Whatever it’s condition, provided it is saveable, I intend to get it professionally stripped, painted and rustproofed.

I envisage this total job taking me several months as I am not a mechanic and not in a rush.