| Home  Blogs Help Search Login Register  
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: What to look for in a Bagheera  (Read 17050 times)
Nick Gillott

« on: October 15, 2004, 09:23:32 pm »

(well, I wanted to be the first to post in the Bagheera forum but equally this probably applies to other models)

I'm currently looking to purchase a Bagheera but I'm not an expert in the marque.

When inspecting one, what should I look for?

Here is my current list (mainly supplied by Andy Owler, with thanks):
- Verticalness of the rear wheels
- If its RHD, front antiroll bar mounting area and drivers seat runners support area
- Chassis longitudinals, especially the front.
- Front outriggers and lower cross member supporting the radiator
- The tops of the door frames.
- Inside the wheel arch at the front of the rear wheels.
- Inside the wheel arch at the rear of the front wheels.
- Under the front bonnet, reach under the windscreen wiper mechanism. Look for rot especially if the sponge is still there.

Putting it through a simple car wash tests watertightness.
Baggyjoe

« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2004, 11:51:23 pm »

I think all Bagheeras are "projects"

Andy is the Oracle on Bagheeras, so the advice you have is good.  I might add that the finish in the dash area of the RHD conversions was less than professional, I would steer clear of those unless you are in love with one.

Also, for LHD and RHD cars,with the metal they were made from, it would be best to find one that has had a bare metal rebuild, and has been zinc dipped.  That way you will get a few extra years before the rust bugs bite again.

Joe

78 Black & Green & Rust Bagheera X
Matra_Hans
YaBB God

Owner of Bagheera, Rancho, Murena & Espace

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2004, 11:10:12 am »

Joe ”Baggyjoe” wrote:” …. it would be best to find one that has had a bare metal rebuild, and has been zinc dipped.”